Tuesday, October 26, 2021

An Unexpected Amish Christmas

Title: An Unexpected Amish Christmas

Series: Surprised by Love #3

Author: Rachel J. Good

Publisher: Kensington Publishers

Genre: Amish, Christmas, Christian Fiction, Romance

Source: Net Galley

My Review:

While An Unexpected Amish Christmas is the third book in the Surprised by Love series, it can be read as a stand-alone novel. However, several characters make appearances in all the books, so for a broader understanding of them, I would read the series in order.

Keturah and her siblings lost their parents, casting Keturah into the role of mom and caretaker. Not only that, but she has to keep their family pretzel stand going. She is extremely lonely and weary until a pen pal reaches out who seems to know exactly what she is going through. I admired Keturah's strength as she was forced into these roles. She does her best to honor her parents and care for her siblings, trying to maintain a positive attitude, even amid their grief. While she allows her sisters to grieve and gives them the grace to do that, Keturah struggles with her own emotions.

Jeremiah has also recently lost a parent and his mobility in an accident. He feels guilty for the accident and reaches out to others who have lost loved ones, hoping to help with his guilt and to feel like he has a purpose. Once Jeremiah meets Keturah he has a greater motivation for doing his therapy in the hopes to gain his full mobility back. While this is a noble goal, I did not agree with his thoughts that while he was in a wheelchair he had nothing to offer. That's simply not true.

I enjoyed this story. It has a unique storyline and is not the "typical" Amish story, while several threads kept the story moving. It is a quick read that covers loss, grief, forgiveness, and love. As I mentioned earlier that are several characters that make reappearances, like Mrs. Vanderberg, a wealthy old lady with matchmaking tendencies, who everyone loves, and Bo with his womanizing ways who everyone tends to avoid. The character development is great as you feel like you are there with the characters.

While the story is more focused on Keturah and Jeremiah's lives, it does slowly build-up to Christmas. I would recommend this story to anyone who loves a sweet Christmas story, Amish story, or love story. Fans of Shelley Shepard Gray, Beth Wiseman, and Amy Clipston will enjoy this series by Rachel J. Good.

Thank you to Net Galley and the publisher for the opportunity to read this book. I was not required to provide a positive review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

★★★★/5

Synopsis (from Goodreads): 

In USA Today bestselling author Rachel J. Good's new Surprised by Love Amish romance, two lonely pen pals--a grieving woman with too many responsibilities and a shy man paralyzed in a buggy accident--fall in love through their letters. Will the Green Valley Farmer's Market be the unlikely backdrop for translating their feelings from the page to in-person?

Recovering from a horse and buggy accident that took the lives of his family, Jeremiah Zook is struggling to regain both his spirit and his body. While his legs remain stubbornly opposed to moving, he exercises his hands by writing, and finds the perfect outlet for his grief in inspirational letters to the Amish newspaper. When Keturah Esch, a woman who works at the Green Valley Farmer's Market, responds with gratitude, Jeremiah has no idea that his hardship is about to become a blessing...

Dealing with her own loss, and responsible for her three siblings, Keturah's new correspondence with the anonymous letter writer becomes a source of joy. And when a shy young man confined to a wheelchair begins to visit the market, Keturah is happy to make his acquaintance--never knowing that Jeremiah is afraid to reveal himself as her pen pal. After all, what can he offer her, when he can't even walk? Can faith bring two lonely people together in perfect union? As Christmas approaches, Jeremiah and Keturah get a chance to make their gifts to each other worthy of the blessing of love...

A crackling fire, the promise of snow, the delicious smell of fresh-baked cookies and fallen pine needles...when Christmas is coming, every heart lifts in song. 

4 comments:

  1. I love a strong, female main character and Keturah sounds like a very strong woman. Terrific review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She was a very strong character and had a hard time accepting help even though she hadn't even asked for the help. I totally relate to her!

      Delete
  2. I agree with Wendy W, Keturah does sound like a strong heroine -- great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Verushka, she was a great character!

      Delete